Bromsgrove Photographic Society held its annual awards evening to acknowledged the success of club members over the year.  The theme of the evening was a tongue-in-cheek parody of the Oscars with plenty of bling and even a red carpet.  Several members got into the groove with bow ties and dinner suits and some of the ladies in their finery.  The sumptuous buffet and wine before the ceremony help to make for a great social and fun occasion.  With 44 sparkling glass trophies covering 14 categories, plus three glass and silver special trophies, a busy and light-hearted glittering affair was achieved.

New members Rebekah Nash and Jenny Webster (both local Bromsgrovians) dominated the new novice class.  Between them, they collected 19 awards and 103 certificates of merit with the Overall Best New Comer trophy going to Jenny Webster.  Roger Lewis, Chairman commented “displaying such a high standard of work, it is hard to believe that Jenny and Rebekah have only been members for less than two years.”

Other trophies that honoured the work of more experienced members in the colour, mono and nature sections were more widely spread than in previous years and reflected the improvements in all the members’ imagery.

Nigel Taylor, competition secretary also won the Services to the Society trophy by transforming the quality and enjoyment of the very popular competitions.  Colin Close retained the Photographic Achievement trophy for 31 national and 60 international exhibition acceptances during the year.

Roger Lewis went on to say “the club has had another successful year, possibly our most successful, and I would like to congratulate all the winners on their achievements and also commend all the members who entered into the competitions throughout the year”.

The following images were taken on the night by Society member Adrian Butt. To see more images from the night please go to the Galleries section Competition Winners.

Group of many of this years award winners

Jenny Webster recieving Best Newcomer TrophyL to R Roger Lewis Chair, Barry Green President and Nigel Taylor Competition Sec Rebeka Nash & Jenny Webster recieving one of many awardsTrophy Table with 44 Trophies


Scroll to Top